Tags

, , , ,

I promised myself I’d go on a diet ever since I found out that I gained a few pounds over a two weeks gluttony. I did fulfill that promise, for three days.  However today is not the day for dieting in my book. It has been a rainy, gloomy, wet and gray day where you just want to snuggle in bed and occasionally crawl out for a bowl of warm comfort food.

I tried to restrain myself all day and now I admit defeat. The image of warm scones has me on my toes, reaching for the flour jar. To my dismay it was almost empty, containing only a cup of all purpose flour. So I sunk to my knees, and reach for the potatoes at the bottom shelf. Heeheehee.

I have never attempted to make potato scones but if I don’t make scones now there’ll be hell to pay. So let’s go.

potato scones

Potato, Rosemary, and Cheddar Scones

3 small potatoes, roast covered in aluminum foil for an hour then peeled and mashed.

1 cup all purpose flour

100 gr cold butter

1.5 tsp coarse mustard

1 tsp dried rosemary

1 tsp sea salt

1 tbsp baking powder

100 gr sharp cheddar, cut into small cubes.

1 egg yolk for egg wash

Combine mashed potato, flour, salt, baking powder, mustard, and rosemary. mix them well. Add cold butter and mix until resemble soft lumpy batter. Mix cheese into batter then shape into patties. Add egg wash generously. Bake in 180 C degrees oven for 30 minutes until golden and the egg wash browned nicely.

I think now i need a sizzling plate of lamb chops to accompany these pretty patties. The zing from the mustard would pair really well with lamb.

