Tags

, , ,

This is a post which has been stowed up in the journal for a year so I don’t remember where I got the recipe from. I’m deeply indebted to the person who wrote the preliminary recipe and pave the way to my glorious moment. Kidding on the glorious moment but the ribs was glorious. And I will thank him forever. At least I remember it was a him.

I made a  tweak to the recipe here and there, mostly on the sauce part, yet the rub I owe to the nameless person. I think the best thing about this way of cooking ribs is that you cook them in their own juices by way of using an aluminum foil wrap along with the sauce, have them rest and regain their juices, then grill them briefly. After trying this method I would oppose anyone who advises me on boiling the ribs first. Yuck.

BBQ Spare Ribs: 1.8 kg spare ribs. Dry rub: 200 gr brown sugar, 4 tbsp salt, 4 tbs chili powder, 2 tbsp paprika, 2 tbsp dry thyme. Sauce: 1 cup tomato ketchup, 4 tbsp red wine vinegar, 8 tbsp honey, 4 tbsp Worchestershire Sauce, 4 clove garlic (chopped).

Mix all the rub ingredients together well. Turn the ribs in the rub, patting down to make sure they make full contact on all sides. Mix all the sauce ingredients together. Preheat your oven to 125°C. Place ribs on aluminum foil, fatty side down. Pour sauce evenly on ribs then fold and seal the aluminum foil tightly. Place the packages on cookie pan. Put the ribs in the oven and leave for 3 hours. Remember, 125°C for three straight hours. Go take a nap or walk the dog.

Remove ribs from the oven and let cool for about 5-10 minutes. Drain sauce from ribs into a saucepan, set ribs aside in a deep platter. In the saucepan, heat sauce, add 2 tbsp honey and 4 tbsp brown sugar. Simmer until sugar melts and the sauce thicken a little. Pour sauce back onto ribs and let cool for 2 hrs.

Grill ribs for 10-15 minutes, basting occasionally with sauce. Serve immediately.

PS: I’m sorry I don’t have a picture of the ribs. I promise to go and make them again sometime next month.